Vuelta 2019, Pogacar the revelation
16 September 2019

Vuelta 2019, Pogacar the revelation

The Vuelta, the last “Grand Tour” of the season, often allows young talents to reveal themselves. The 2019 edition did not break the rule….

12 individual stages out of 20 were won by Tour de l’Avenir alumni :
– Tadej Pogacar (x3), winner in 2018 – first Grand Tour
– Philippe Gilbert (x2), 1 stage and green jersey in 2003
– Sepp Kuss, 103rd in 2016
– Mikel Iturria, 50th in 2014
– Nikias Arndt, 50th in 2012
– Jesus Herrada, 25th in 2010
– Fabio Jakobsen, 1 stage in 2017 (x2) – first Grand Tour
– Nairo Quintana, winner in 2010
The inaugural team time trial has been won Astana team, which included Miguel Angel Lopez (winner 2014), Ion Izagirre (34th in 2010), Dario Cataldo (2 stages and polka dot jersey in 2007) and Omar Fraille (DNF in 2011).

TDAV 2017 – Fabio Jakobsen ©James Startt

Pogacar, first Grand Tour

Tadej Pogacar, only one year after his victory on the Tour de l’Avenir roads, was truly impressed on this Vuelta. The Slovenian, who enjoyed an excellent season (winner of the Tour of Algarve, the Tour of the Basque Country, the Tour of California, the national champion…), his first time in the professional category, won 3 summits with panache.
The member of the UAE Emirates team really turned the hierarchy upside down the day before the finish in Madrid, by pulling himself out on his own with around 20 kilometres to go. Winner of the stage, he took 3rd place on the final podium of his first Grand Tour and left with the best young rider jersey.
His Vuelta had got off to a bad start. His entire team was on the ground at the inaugural DTC. A considerable expenditure of time without which Pogacar could have hoped to climb one step further….

©Gomez Sport

5 “alumni” of the Tour de l’Avenir are included in the TOP of the 2019 edition, including 4 former winners!
– Tadej Pogačar, 3rd – Winner #TDAV2018

– Nairo Quintana, 4th – Winner #TDAV2010

– Miguel Angel Lopez, 5th – Winner #TDAV2014

– Wilco Kelderman, 7th – 10th #TDAV2010
– Marc Soler, 9th – Winner #TDAV2015

The Tour de l’Avenir is happy to train the champions of tomorrow and supports all its “alumni”.

Back to top